# NEVADA OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH ADMINISTRATION WHISTLEBLOWER PROTECTION PROGRAM

The Nevada Occupational Safety and Health Administration (NVOSHA) Whistleblower Protection Program investigates employee complaints of retaliation for exercising their rights under the Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 618 – Occupational Safety and Health.

### What Employees are Covered?

In general, employees who work in Nevada's private sector or employees who work in Nevada's public sector (ie, state of Nevada, a county located in Nevada, a city located in Nevada) are covered. If an employee works in Nevada but their employer is located outside of Nevada, they may still be covered. If an employee works outside of Nevada but their employer is located in Nevada, they may be covered by Nevada or the state they actually work in. In both situations, NVOSHA would gather all pertinent information to determine whether the employee is covered by Nevada or another state.

#### What Types of Complaints are Covered?

NVOSHA investigates complaints by employees who feel their employer has retaliated against them by taking an adverse action against them in violation of NRS 618.445. NRS 618.445 covers employees who have been retaliated against for exercising their rights under Chapter 618 – Occupational Safety and Health. Examples of exercising one's rights under Chapter 618 includes:

- Filing a safety or health complaint with NVOSHA
- Participating in a NVOSHA inspection
- Reporting workplace health or safety concerns to management
- Reporting a workplace injury or illness

#### What is Considered an Adverse Action?

An adverse action includes:

- Termination or layoff
- Reduced work hours/pay
- Denial of overtime
- Discipline
- Demotion
- Reassignment to a less favorable position
- Making threats
- Blacklisting

#### What is the Deadline for Filing Complaints?

Complaints must be filed within 30 days after the adverse action is taken against the employee. There are very limited situations where a complaint will still be accepted if it is past the 30 day deadline.

## How Do I File a NVOSHA whistleblower complaint?

A whistleblower complaint may be filed with NVOSHA in the following ways:

- Call the NVOSHA whistleblower complaint line at (702) 486-9097 and leave your name and phone number
- File a complaint online at: <a href="https://www.whistleblowers.gov/">https://www.whistleblowers.gov/</a>, under the "File a Complaint" section
- Mail or drop off your written complaint to: NVOSHA Whistleblower Unit

2300 W. Sahara Avenue, Suite 300 Las Vegas, NV 89102